Festival archive

mobile navigation

11th International Short Film Festival Berlin 1993

In 1993, for the first time, the festival was placed under one theme: "Science & Fiction". Seminars on the theme were offered, and the first long SF film in film history opened the festival in the observatory. Cinemas were the fsk and Eiszeit.

interfilm is dedicated to independent, experimental and unusual film and video from around the world, and has been for eleven years. At this year's festival, however, there are some innovations. For the first time, the free call for submissions had a motto: Science and Fiction. The artistic genre to which the festival provocatively refers is today subject to just as strong legitimation constraints as the two sources from which it previously drew. Hardly anyone still dreams of social utopias. The belief in scientific-technical progress has also been buried for a long time.

Is the synthesis "science fiction" a child of the past, because now science is uncontrollably, even unimaginably, ahead of fantasy? Do we really live without visions?

Trailer

At the festival, you can get an idea of the dreams and fears of film and video makers for the future. We present films and videos that name topics of the third millennium and the not too distant future and approach them not only technically in the most diverse ways. More or less serious prognoses between scientific fantasy and utopian absurdities will be put up for discussion. For the first time there is a competition. Out of more than a hundred works, the jury can award prizes to three. Hopefully, all of them will provide entertainment or stimulation. Perhaps also the possibility to jump back and forth between different realities, to let time run forwards and backwards. But beware, the view into the future is fascinating and horrifying at the same time. What shines or glows there, is it heaven or hell - who knows?

Program

Mind Bombs
The Cyber Complex
Horrorscope of Society
Snapshot Research
Dead to the Future
Off Climax
Sex and Search
Space Travels
Sundevils and Fairyqueens Frankenstein "s Grandchildren
The Golden Gate
Work, Rest and Play
In Advance of the Landing
The Sky Ship
Karlsruhe Special
Nightmares of Ecstasy
Four times future and back
The Mutabar
Movies in the bucket

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

11. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 1993

1993 wurde das Festival erstmals unter ein Thema gestellt: "Science & Fiction". Es wurden Seminare zum Thema angeboten, und der erste lange SF- Film der Filmgeschichte eröffnete das Festival in der Sternwarte. Kinos waren das fsk und Eiszeit.

interfilm widmet sich dem unabhängigen, experimentellen und ungewöhnlichen Film und Video aus aller Welt, und das schon elf Jahre lang. Beim diesjährigen Festival aber gibt es einige Neuerungen. Erstmalig stand die freie Ausschreibung unter einem Motto: Science and Fiction. Das künstlerische Genre, auf das sich das Festival provokativ bezieht, unterliegt heute ebenso starken Legitimationszwängen wie die beiden Quellen, aus denen es bisher schöpfte. Kaum jemand träumt noch von sozialen Utopien. Auch der Glaube an den wissenschaftlich-technischen Fortschritt ist längst begraben.

Ist die Synthese "Science Fiction" ein Kind der Vergangenheit, weil jetzt die Wissenschaft der Phantasie unkontrollierbar, sogar unvorstellbar vorauseilt? Leben wir wirklich ohne Visionen?

Trailer

Über Zukunftsträume und -Ängste von Film- und Videomachern kann man sich beim Festival ein Bild machen. Wir präsentieren Filme und Videos, die Themen des dritten Jahrtausends und nicht allzu ferner Zukunft benennen und sich ihnen nicht nur technisch auf unterschiedlichste Art und Weise nähern. Mehr oder weniger ernsthafte Prognosen zwischen wissenschaftlicher Phantastik und utopischen Absurditäten werden zur Diskussion gestellt. Denn zum ersten Mal gibt es einen Wettbewerb. Von über hundert Arbeiten kann die Jury drei prämieren. Unterhaltung oder Anregung bieten hoffentlich alle. Vielleicht auch die Möglichkeit, zwischen verschiedenen Wirklichkeiten hin- und herzuspringen, die Zeit vorwärts und rückwärts laufen zu lassen. Doch Vorsicht, der Blick in die Zukunft ist faszinierend und grauenvoll zugleich. Was da leuchtet oder strahlt, ist es nun Himmel oder Hölle - wer weiß das schon?

Programm

Mind Bombs
The Cyber Complex
Horrorscope of Society
Snapshot Research
Dead to the Future
Off Climax
Sex and Search
Space Travels
Sundevils and Fairyqueens Frankenstein"s Grandchildren
Das Goldene Tor
Work, Rest and Play
In Advance of the Landing
Das Himmelsschiff
Karlsruhe Special
Nightmares of Ecstasy
Viermal Zukunft und Zurück
Die Mutabar
Filme im Eimer