Festival archive

mobile navigation

12th International Short Film Festival Berlin 1995

In 1995, the motto was "Evil & The Drive" - at fsk, Ossena, Eimer and Acud.

A digression on the subject The world seemed so simple only a few years ago: Sciences and ideologies offered world models that separated between "true" and "false" and "evil" and "good." Those days are gone. Cause-and-effect thinking has become old iron. Global catastrophe looms and the end of the contrasting political systems of the West and East fragmented the world into a web of barely transparent interests and countless newly emerging hot conflicts.

Is this the reign of the diabolos, the muddler? The end of the democratic illusion and the straining of the subject lead to a renaissance of simple ideologies and "barbaric" behaviors. In the cultural society that has overflowed its banks, extremes do not exist. Horror has become commonplace: as a violent attempt to create new points of reference in a chaotic world. But how evil is evil, if even those who "mean well" are unintentionally malicious? Who still dares to set standards and assess actions? Reason and rationality reveal their limits; does this mean at the same time a turn to the animalistic, a revival of instincts? Enough philosophizing. Let's face the new challenges: next level please. "interfilm" provides the necessary energy!

This year's program spans a daring range from crude entertainment a la "Sex, Violence and Good Humor" to classic horror stories and sophisticated documentaries. Two lectures and a seminar provide the content framework: media theorist Norbert Bolz talks about "Evil," and philosopher Gerburg Treusch-Dieter speaks on the topic of "The Drive. Allesandro Aiello deals with the representation of (filmed) death - "Sequences of Death".

Before ecstasy and sex come into their own on Saturday, things get really horrendous on Friday: the films shown on this day present horror in all its forms. Excesses, border crossings in a direct and metaphorical sense, are reserved for Sunday. The focus of the festival is, of course, the competition, for which 72 films and videos of all genres were selected from a total of 600 submitted works. The provocative diversity of the program will hopefully give rise to controversial discussions and contribute to a new, unfamiliar view of evil and the libidinous.

The international jury, consisting of Adele Eisenstein from Budapest, Paul Garrin from New York, Anne-Marie K├╝rstein from Copenhagen and Wieland Speck from Berlin, will award four prizes at the end of the festival. It will probably be difficult to choose: for evil shimmers and tempts in many guises. So: let us be seduced.

Program    

    Competition
    Horror and Abomination - Gruesome Grins
    Laughter, Joy and Loneliness
    Sex Troubles
    Death and Trendy
    Familiar Nightmares
    Horror - Images of Horror
    Fairy Tales, Murders, Massacres
    Fate

    Lectures and exhibitions
    Allesandro Aiello: Sequences of Death
    Prof. Norbert Bolz: Evil
    Prof. Gerburg Treusch-Dieter: The Drive
    Short films by well-known directors
    Selection Program Bela Balazs Studios
    Selection Program British Short Film Festival
    Wild Finland
    SaGA - Sarajevo Group of Authors: Man, God, the Monster
    New short films from SaGA Weininger's night
    Jan Svankmajer's Faust
    Thundercrack De Generazione
    Behind Glass
    Sex, Violence and Good Humor
    Baby, I Will Make You Sweat
    A Pink Film from Japan - An Aria On Gaze
    Selection Program interfilm 11
    Videos at the Festivalcafe Ossena
    Exhibition interfilm meets Comic Strip
    Strange Films and Sharp Music - The Bloody Vicious Bucket Night
    Sex, Jazz and War In American Cartoons

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

12. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 1995

1995 hieß das Motto "Das Böse & Der Trieb" - im fsk, Ossena, Eimer und Acud.

Eine Abschweifung zum Thema So einfach schien die Welt noch vor wenigen Jahren: Wissenschaften und Ideologien boten Weltmodelle an, die zwischen "wahr" und "falsch" und "böse" und "gute" trennten. Diese Zeiten sind vorbei. Das Ursache-Wirkung-Denken ist zu altem Eisen geworden. Die globale Katastrophe droht und das Ende der konträren politischen Systeme des Westens und Ostens zersplitterte die Welt in ein Netz kaum durchschaubarer Interessen und zahlloser neu entstehender heißer Konflikte.

Ist das die Herrschaft des Diabolos, des Durcheinanderwürflers? Das Ende der demokratischen Illusion und die Strapazierung des Subjektes führen zu einer Renaissance einfacher Ideologien und "barbarischer" Verhaltensweisen. In der über die Ufer getretenen Kulturgesellschaft zählen die Extreme existieren keine Tabus. Das Grauen ist alltäglich geworden: als gewalttätiger Versuch neue Referenzpunkte in einer chaotischen Welt zu schaffen. Aber wie böse ist das Böse eigentlich, wenn selbst die "Es gut meinenden" ungewollt bösartig sind? Wer wagt es noch, Maßstäbe zu setzen und Handlungen abzuschätzen? Vernunft und Rationalität offenbaren ihre Grenzen; bedeutet dies zugleich eine Hinwendung zum Animalischen, ein Aufleben der Triebe? Genug philosophiert. Stellen wir uns den neuen Herausforderungen: next level please. "interfilm" liefert die nötige Energie!

 

Trailer

Das diesjährige Programm spannt einen gewagten Bogen von derber Unterhaltung a la "Sex, Gewalt und Gute Laune" über klassische Horrorgeschichten bis hin zu anspruchsvollen Dokumentationen. Den inhaltlichen Rahmen bilden zwei Vorträge und ein Seminar: Der Medientheoretiker Norbert Bolz referiert über "Das Böse", die Philosophin Gerburg Treusch-Dieter spricht zum Thema "Der Trieb". Allesandro Aiello beschäftigt sich mit der Darstellung des (abgefilmten) Todes - "Sequenzen des Todes".

Bevor Ekstase und Sex am Samstag zu ihrem Recht kommen, wird es freitags wirklich horrend: die an diesem Tag gezeigten Filme präsentieren das Entsetzen in all seinen Formen. Exzessen, Grenzüberschreitungen in direktem und metaphorischen Sinne, ist der Sonntag vorbehalten. Im Mittelpunkt des Festivals steht natürlich der Wettbewerb, für den aus insgesamt 600 eingereichten Arbeiten 72 Filme und Videos aller Genres ausgewählt wurden. Die provokante Vielfalt des Programms gibt hoffentlich Anlaß zu kontroversen Diskussionen und trägt zu einer neuen ungewohnten Sicht auf Böses und Triebhaftes bei.

Die internationale Jury der Adele Eisenstein aus Budapest, Paul Garrin aus New York, Anne-Marie Kürstein aus Kopenhagen und Wieland Speck aus Berlin angehören, wird zum Abschluß des Festivals vier Preise vergeben. Wahrscheinlich fällt die Wahl schwer: denn das Böse schillert und lockt in vielerlei Gestalt. Also: lassen wir uns verführen.

Programm    

    Wettbewerb
    Grusel und Greuel - Gruesome Grins
    Laughter, Joy and Loneliness
    Sex Troubles
    Tod und Trendy
    Familiar Nightmares
    Das Grauen - Images of Horror
    Märchen, Morde, Massaker
    Schicksal

    Vorträge und Ausstellungen
    Allesandro Aiello: Sequenzen des Todes
    Prof. Norbert Bolz: Das Böse
    Prof. Gerburg Treusch-Dieter: Der Trieb
    Kurzfilme bekannter Regisseure
    Auswahlprogramm Bela Balazs-Studios
    Auswahlprogramm British Short Film Festival
    Wildes Finnland
    SaGA - Sarajevo Group of Authors: Man, God, the Monster
    Neue Kurzfilme von SaGA Weininger's Nacht
    Jan Svankmajer's Faust
    Thundercrack De Generazione
    Hinter Glas
    Sex, Gewalt und Gute Laune
    Baby, I Will Make You Sweat
    Ein Pink Film aus Japan - An Aria On Gaze
    Auswahlprogramm interfilm 11
    Videos im Festivalcafe Ossena
    Ausstellung interfilm meets Comicstrip
    Strange Films and Sharp Music - The Bloody Vicious Bucket Night
    Sex, Jazz and War In American Cartoons