Festival archive

mobile navigation

19th Berlin International Short Film Festival 2003

From November 4 to 9, 2003, the international short film festival interfilm took place in Berlin for the 19th time. Over 300 short films and videos were shown during the six days of the festival.

From short feature films, documentaries and technically brilliant animations to art films or trash flicks, everything the medium has to offer was there: Serious, tragic and comical. And so the interfilm selection proves time and again that the cinematic short form is just as accepted and loved by the audience as its 90-minute relatives.

In addition to the festival itself, interfilm organizes monthly short film evenings at Filmkunsthaus Babylon, Kino Acud and Reingold, is represented with its selection programs at the most important international festivals and, together with Berliner Fenster, founded the highly acclaimed Going Underground Festival in January of this year, the world's first film festival in the subway, which was continued in February 2004.

Trailer

We received over 3400 submissions from 77 countries in 2004, and fortunately 722 of them came from Germany alone. The films were screened by brave teams during the hottest summer in Berlin's history:

1688 feature films,709experimental films, 457 animations, 182 computer animations, 363 documentaries, 254 music video clips and 106 children's films with a total playing time of 590 hours, 13 minutes and 31 seconds. Additional short films were screened locally in Spain and Italy and at numerous festivals.

During the six days of the festival, over 400 selected short films and videos from around the world were screened in approximately 90-minute thematic programs. Prizes were awarded in the following categories: International Competition (IC), International Competition 'Confrontations - Films against Violence and Intolerance' (IC), German Competition (GC), Children's Film (CC) and the Audience Competition 'Eject VI - The Long Night of Deviant Film' (AC). For the first time, an audience award was also presented in the Italian part of the festival (IT), the 'Immaginale'. A total of 13 prizes were awarded in the various categories.

In the international competition, 82 films from 27 countries competed for the 4 short awards. For the first time there was a German Competition, which replaced the Regional Competition. For the third time, the competition program 'Confrontations - Films against Violence and Intolerance', which is very close to our hearts, took place. In addition, there was a Documentary Film Competition for the second time and further prizes for children's films. Fortunately, 'eject VI - The long night of deviant film' could again take place at the Volksbühne. The audience was invited to vote.

As country focuses we presented Spain, Great Britain, Italy and Australia. Spain has come more and more into focus as a short film country, especially in the last few years. The production quality and diversity of the films is remarkable. A large part of the films are not produced at film schools, but are produced freely and often subsidized by the state. Great Britain is already known for good, original films. In Italy, short film culture feels inadequately supported. But even there, excellent short films can be found time and again.

For the second time, the Italian film festival 'L'Immaginale', which has already existed for 6 years, took place within our festival in cooperation with the Cultural Institute of the Italian Embassy. We intend to continue this in the coming years. The country focus Australia was made possible by the support of the Australian Embassy Berlin. Two programs were put together in cooperation with the St. Kilda Film Festival, the short film festival that has been held in Melbourne for 20 years and now has the largest national competition for short films in Australia (200 participating films). Another part of the program came from the 120 film submissions that reached the interfilm Festival directly from Australia.

The winners are…

Children's Film Competition KuKi
1st prize: (Zapf): Les Fables En Délire / The Delirious Tales / Fabrice Luang-Vija / France / Belgium, 2003 / 9:30min / 35mm
2nd prize (Regale): Das Lachgespenst / Ghost Without A Name / Carsten Maaz / Germany, 2003 / 14:00min / BetaSP

L'Immaginale' - Best Italian Short Film
Il Sorriso di Diana / The Smile of Diana / Luca Lucini / Italy, 2002 / 19:00min / 35mm / Feature Film

German Competition
Prize (The Work): Neulich 3 / Recently 3 / Jochen Kuhn / Germany, 2002 / 6:00min / 35mm /
Prize (Fuji + Film & Videoprint): 1 vor 2 zurück / 1 Before 2 Back / Philip Haferbusch / Germany, 2002 / 10:10min / 35mm
eject VI: (interfilm)
Case Studies from the Groat Center for Sleep Disorders / Mitchell Rose / USA, 2002 / 7:12min / BetaSP

Best Documentary: (The Work)
Omnis / Omnipotent / Gülseli-Bille Baur / Germany, 2002 / 8:59min / BetaSP

Confrontations: (Federal Agency for Civic Education)
1st prize: Ngay Gio / The Anniversary / Ham Tran / Vietnam / USA, 2003 / 28:00min / 35mm / Spielfilm+
2nd prize: The shot / Maria Schina / Greece, 2002 / 1:24min / BetaSP
Special Mention: The Day Winston NgaKambe Came To Kiel / Jasper Ahrens / Germany, 2003 / 9:20min / 35mm

Best Sound: (mainland media)
Sr. Trapo / Mr. Cloth / Raúl Diez / Spain, 2002 / 11:40min / 35mm
Special Mention: La Collection De Judicael / Judicael's Collection / Corinne Garfin / France, 2003 / 15:10min / 35mm

Best Animation: (Cine Pix)
Eternal Gaze / Sam Chen / USA, 2003 / 15:50min / 35mm
Special Mention: Tim Tom / Christel Pougeoise, Romain Segaud / France, 2002 / 4:20min / BetaSP
Special Mention: Atama Yama / Mt. Head / Yamamura Koji / Japan, 2002 / 10:00min / 35mm

Best Camera: (ARRI Berlin)
Silencio Profundo / Deep Silence / Gustavo Loza / Mexico, 2003 / 15:30min / 35mm
Special Mention: Burza / The Storm / Suzanne Allee / Poland, 2003 / 11:45min / 35mm
Special Mention: L' Homme sans Tete / The Man Without A Head / Juan Solanas / France, 2003 / 15:00min / 35mm

Best Film: (Filmboard)
Terminal / Aitzol Aramaio / Spain, 2002 / 12:00min / 35mm
Special Mention: Fast Film / Virgil Widrich / Austria / Luxembourg, 2003 / 14:00min / 35mm
Special Mention: Poveste La Scara 'C' / 'C' Block Story / Criabian Namescu / Romania, 2002 / 14:00min / 35mm

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

19. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2003

Vom 4. bis 9. November 2003 fand zum 19. Mal das internationale Kurzfilmfestival interfilm in Berlin statt. Während der sechs Festivaltage wurden über 300 Kurzfilme und Videos gezeigt.

Von kurzen Spielfilmen, Dokumentarfilmen und technisch brillianten Animationen bis hin zu Kunstfilmen oder Trash-Streifen war alles dabei, was das Medium hergibt: Ernstes, Tragisches und Komisches. Und so belegt die interfilm-Auswahl immer wieder, dass die filmische Kurzform ebenso vom Publikum akzeptiert und geliebt wird, wie ihre 90-minütigen Verwandten.

Neben dem eigentlichen Festival veranstaltet interfilm monatliche Kurzfilmabende im Filmkunsthaus Babylon, im Kino Acud und im Reingold, ist mit seinen Auswahlprogrammen auf den wichtigsten internationalen Festivals vertreten und begründete, gemeinsam mit dem Berliner Fenster, im Januar diesen Jahres das vielbeachtete Going Underground Festival, der Welt erstes Filmfest in der U-Bahn, das Februar 2004 seine Fortsetzung fand.

Trailer

Es erreichten uns im Jahr 2004 über 3400 Einreichungen aus 77 Ländern, davon erfreulicherweise allein 722 aus Deutschland. Die Filme wurden während des heißesten Sommers in Berlins Geschichte von tapferen Teams gesichtet:

1688 Spielfilme,709Experimentalfilme, 457 Animationen, 182 Computeranimationen, 363 Dokumentarfilme, 254 Musikvideoclips und 106 Kinderfilme in einer Gesamtlänge von 590 Stunden, 13 Minuten und 31 Sekunden Spielzeit. Weitere Kurzfilme wurden vor Ort in Spanien und Italien und auf zahlreichen Festivals gesichtet.

Während der sechs Festivaltage wurden über 400 ausgewählte Kurzfilme und Videos aus aller Welt in ca. 90-minütigen thematischen Programmen vorgeführt. Preise wurden in den folgenden Kategorien vergeben: Internationaler Wettbewerb (IC), Internationaler Wettbewerb 'Konfrontationen - Filme gegen Gewalt und Intoleranz' (IC), Deutscher Wettbewerb (GC), Kinderfilm (CC) und dem Publikumswettbewerb 'Eject VI - Die lange Nacht des abwegigen Films' (AC). Erstmalig wurde zudem im italienischen Teil des Festivals (IT), der 'Immaginale', ein Publikumspreis vergeben. Insgesamt wurden 13 Preise in den verschiedenen Kategorien vergeben.

Im internationalen Wettbewerb konkurrierten 82 Filme aus 27 Ländern um die 4 short awards. Zum ersten Mal gab es einen Deutschen Wettbewerb, der den Regionalen Wettbewerb ablöste. Zum dritten Mal fand das uns sehr am Herzen liegende Wettbewerbsprogramm 'Konfrontationen - Filme gegen Gewalt und Intoleranz' statt. Darüber hinaus gab es zum zweiten Mal einen Dokumentarfilmwettbewerb und weitere Preise für Kinderfilme. Erfreulicherweise konnte 'eject VI - Die lange Nacht des abwegigen Films' wieder in der Volksbühne stattfinden. Das Publikum war eingeladen abzustimmen.

Als Länderschwerpunkte präsentierten wir Spanien, Grossbritannien, Italien und Australien. Spanien ist gerade in den letzten Jahren als Kurzfilmland immer mehr in den Blickpunkt gerückt. Die Produktionsqualität und Vielfalt der Filme ist bemerkenswert. Ein Großteil der Filme wird nicht an den Filmhochschulen sondern frei produziert und oft staatlich gefördert. Grossbritannien ist ja für gute, originelle Filme bereits bekannt. In Italien sieht sich die Kurzfilmkultur nur unzureichend unterstützt. Doch auch dort finden sich immer wieder hervorragende Kurzfilme.

Zum zweiten Mal fand das seit bereits 6 Jahren bestehende italienische Filmfestival 'L'Immaginale' in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kulturinstitut der italienischen Botschaft innerhalb unseres Festivals statt. Wir beabsichtigen, dies auch in den kommenden Jahren fortzuführen. Der Länderschwerpunkt Australien wurde durch die Unterstützung der Australischen Botschaft Berlin ermöglicht. Zwei Programme wurden in Kooperation mit dem St.Kilda Film Festival zusammengestellt, dem seit 20 Jahren in Melbourne stattfindenen Kurzfilmfestival mit dem mittlerweile größten nationalem Wettbewerb für Kurzfilme in Australien (200 teilnehmende Filme). Ein weiterer Teil des Programms stammte aus den 120 Filmeinreichungen, die das interfilm Festival direkt aus Australien erreicht hatten.

The winners are…

Kinderfilm Wettbewerb KuKi
1. Preis: (Zapf): Les Fables En Délire / The Delirious Tales / Fabrice Luang-Vija / Frankreich / Belgien, 2003 / 9:30min / 35mm
2. Preis (Regale): Das Lachgespenst  / Ghost Without A Name / Carsten Maaz / Deutschland, 2003 / 14:00min / BetaSP

L’Immaginale’ - Bester Italienischer Kurzfilm
Il Sorriso di Diana / The Smile of Diana / Luca Lucini / Italien, 2002 / 19:00min / 35mm / Spielfilm

Deutscher Wettbewerb
Preis (Das Werk): Neulich 3 / Recently 3 / Jochen Kuhn / Deutschland, 2002 / 6:00min / 35mm /
Preis (Fuji + Film & Videoprint): 1 vor 2 zurück / 1 Before 2 Back / Philip Haferbusch / Deutschland, 2002 / 10:10min / 35mm
eject VI: (interfilm)
Case Studies from the Groat Center for Sleep Disorders / Mitchell Rose / USA, 2002 / 7:12min / BetaSP

Bester Dokumentarfilm: (Das Werk)
Omnis / Omnipotent / Gülseli-Bille Baur / Deutschland, 2002 / 8:59min / BetaSP

Konfrontationen: (Bndeszentrale für Politische Bildung)
1. Preis: Ngay Gio / The Anniversary / Ham Tran / Vietnam / USA, 2003 / 28:00min / 35mm / Spielfilm+
2. Preis: The shot / Maria Schina / Griechenland, 2002 / 1:24min /  BetaSP
Special Mention: The Day Winston NgaKambe Came To Kiel / Jasper Ahrens / Deutschland, 2003 / 9:20min / 35mm

Bester Sound: (mainland media)
Sr. Trapo / Mr. Cloth / Raúl Diez / Spanien, 2002 / 11:40min / 35mm
Special Mention: La Collection De Judicael / Judicael´s Collection / Corinne Garfin / Frankreich, 2003 / 15:10min / 35mm

Beste Animation: (Cine Pix)
Eternal Gaze / Sam Chen / USA, 2003 / 15:50min / 35mm
Special Mention: Tim Tom / Christel Pougeoise, Romain Segaud / Frankreich,  2002 / 4:20min / BetaSP
Special Mention: Atama Yama / Mt. Head / Yamamura Koji / Japan, 2002 / 10:00min / 35mm

Beste Kamera: (ARRI Berlin)
Silencio Profundo / Deep Silence / Gustavo Loza / Mexico, 2003 / 15:30min / 35mm
Special Mention: Burza / The Storm / Suzanne Allee / Polen, 2003 / 11:45min / 35mm
Special Mention: L' Homme sans Tete / The Man Without A Head / Juan Solanas / Frankreich, 2003 / 15:00min / 35mm

Bester Film: (Filmboard)
Terminal / Aitzol Aramaio / Spanien, 2002 / 12:00min / 35mm
Special Mention: Fast Film / Virgil Widrich / Österreich / Luxemburg, 2003 / 14:00min / 35mm
Special Mention: Poveste La Scara 'C' / 'C' Block Story / Criabian Namescu / Rumänien, 2002 / 14:00min / 35mm