Festival archive

mobile navigation

20st Berlin International Short Film Festival 2004

13,000 viewers watched more than 450 short films from 45 countries (festival record) in 50 different programs (festival record) on the six festival days at seven venues. In addition, more than 10,000 viewers watched and decided on the cell phone film competition via the Internet.  The entire range of film genres was covered - from classic short fiction to animation, children's films and documentaries, music and advertising clips to film experiments.

For its anniversary festival, interfilm welcomed more international guests than ever before. Filmmakers and representatives of the film industry came from Australia, Colombia, Argentina, Mexico, South Korea, India and many other countries.

This was due not least to the world's first competition for short films shot with a cell phone camera. Of the 150 super-short films submitted (max. length: 90 seconds), the Colombian flick "Checklist" won through with the audience for the "Siemens mobile MicroMovie AWARD".

Trailer

For the first time, two films from the newly created experimental film sector won two of the most coveted prizes: "Light Is Calling" (USA, 2004) was named Best Short Film in the International Competition and tells its story in images that surrender to the allure of ancient times as melting historical photographs. "Obras" (France, 2004), which won Best Animation, also evokes the past as part of the present. After four years of research, the filmmakers portrayed one of Barcelona's most famous neighborhoods in a unique blend of photography, video and computer animation.

The festival, born two decades ago in the flashy cultural scene of what was then the political island of West Berlin, has become an internationally renowned media event.   Festival director Heinz Hermanns has been there from the beginning. "The festival has moved with the times, bringing Super8 experimental films to the screen, introducing cinematic hybrids and always opening up to new developments."

Patron Prof. Klaus Keil:"...The 20th International Short Film Festival! Bravo and respect to Heinz Hermanns and his team: over 20 years of passion, underfunding and still growth - what an achievement!.."    

Films:

3839 films submitted from 78 countries
Various screening teams once again spent the summer forming an essence from them. The result: over 450 screened films from 45 countries

Programs + Venues

    - 19 competition programs (International Competition, German Competition, Children's Film Competition, 3 Audience Competitions)
    - 21 special programs and retrospectives (including Tony Hill Retrospective, Festivals in Residence, Super 8 Programs, Music Clips, Computer Animation)
    - 7 programs in the country specials Portugal, Spain, Argentina, Australia, Italy
    - 3 lectures on the topics of screenplay and title design
    50 thematic programs á each approx. 90 min.


    - Filmkunsthaus Babylon (2 cinemas, 32 screenings)
    - Hackesche Höfe Filmtheater (2 cinemas, 29 screenings)  
    - Acud Kino (1 cinema, 14 screenings)
    - Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and Red Salon (2 venues, 10 screenings)
    4 venues, 7 screens, 77 screenings (exclusive special events)

Siemens Micro Movie Awards

Awards

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

20. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2004

13.000 Zuschauer haben an den sechs Festivaltagen an sieben Spielorten mehr als 450 Kurzfilme aus 45 Ländern (Festivalrekord) in 50 unterschiedlichen Programmen (Festivalrekord) gesehen. Hinzu kamen über 10.000 Zuschauer die via Internet den Handyfilmwettbewerb betrachteten und entschieden.  Es wurde die gesamte Bandbreite des  Filmbereiches – von der klassischen Short Fiction über Animationen, Kinder- und Dokumentarfilme, Musik- und Werbeclips bis zum Filmexperiment – abdeckt.

Zum Jubiläumsfestival durfte interfilm so viele internationale Gäste wie noch nie begrüßen. Aus Australien, Kolumbien, Argentinien, Mexiko, Süd-Korea, Indien und vielen anderen Ländern kamen Filmemacher und Vertreter der Filmbranche angereist.

Dies liegt nicht zuletzt am weltweit ersten ausgeschriebenen Wettbewerb für Kurzfilme, die mit einer Handykamera gedreht wurden. Von den 150 eingesandten Superkurzfilmen (max. Länge: 90 Sekunden) setzte sich der kolumbianische Streifen „Checklist" für den „Siemens mobile MicroMovie AWARD“ beim Publikum durch.

 

Trailer

Zum ersten Mal gewannen zwei Filme aus dem neu geschaffenen Experimentalfilmbereich zwei der begehrtesten Preise: „Light Is Calling“ (USA, 2004) wurde als Bester Kurzfilm im internationalen Wettbewerb gekürt und erzählt in Bildern, die sich als dahin schmelzende historische Fotografien dem Reiz der alten Zeit hingeben. Auch der als beste Animation ausgezeichnete „Obras“ (Frankreich, 2004) beschwört die Vergangenheit als Teil des Gegenwärtigen. Nach vierjähriger Recherche haben die Filmemacher in einer einzigartigen Mischung aus Foto, Video und Computeranimation eines der bekanntesten Stadtviertel Barcelonas porträtiert.

Das Festival, vor zwei Jahrzehnten in der schrillen Kulturszene der damaligen Politinsel Westberlin geboren, hat sich zu einem international renommierten Medienereignis entwickelt.   Festivalleiter Heinz Hermanns ist von Anfang an dabei gewesen. „Das Festival ist mit der Zeit gegangen, es hat Super8-Experimentalfilme auf die Leinwand gebracht, filmische Mischformen vorgestellt und sich immer wieder neuen Entwicklungen geöffnet.“

Schirmherr Prof. Klaus Keil:„...Das 20. Internationale Kurzfilm Festival! Bravo und Respekt für Heinz Hermanns und sein Team: über 20 Jahre Leidenschaft, Unterfinanzierung und trotzdem Wachstum – was für eine Leistung!..“    

Filme:

3839 eingereichte Filme aus 78 Ländern
Verschiedene Sichtungsteams haben erneut den Sommer damit verbracht, daraus eine Essenz zu bilden. Das Resultat: über 450 vorgeführte Filme aus 45 Ländern

Programme + Spielorte

    • 19 Wettbewerbsprogramme (Internationaler Wettbewerb, Deutscher Wettbewerb, Kinderfilm Wettbewerb, 3 Publikumswettbewerbe)
    • 21 Sonderprogramme und Retrospektiven (u.a. Retrospektive Tony Hill, Festivals zu Gast, Super 8 Programme, Music Clips, Computeranimationen)
    • 7 Programme in den Länderspecials Portugal, Spanien, Argentinien, Australien, Italien
    • 3 Lectures  zu den Themen Drehbuch und Titeldesign
    50 thematische Programme á jeweils ca. 90 min.


    • Filmkunsthaus Babylon (2 Kinos, 32 Vorstellungen)
    • Hackesche Höfe Filmtheater (2 Kinos, 29 Vorstellungen)  
    • Acud Kino (1 Kino, 14 Vorstellungen)
    • Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz und Roter Salon (2 Spielorte, 10 Vorstellungen)
    4 Spielorte, 7 Leinwände, 77 Vorstellungen (exklusive Sonder-Events)

Siemens Micro Movie Awards

Awards