Festival archive

mobile navigation

29th International Shortfilmfestival Berlin 2013

We're thrilled: The 29th interfilm and 6th KUKI Festivals were both astoundingly successful. Guests attending from all over the world praised the fantastic film selection, the great atmosphere, locations, parties and events.

Record Audience Numbers: 19,000 Guests!

The 80 interfilm programmes (130 screenings) and 14 KUKI programmes (31 screenings) at seven cinema locations were well attended: a new interfilm record was achieved with 19,000 cinema-goers. All the work we poured into creating new event ideas truly paid off and many innovations are set to return in 2014, we're delighted with the overwhelming positive response!

More than 500 guests were accredited, over 200 international and German filmmakers came and more than 300 industry guests enjoyed the festival. This year, attending filmmakers came from 35 countries as diverse as Brazil, Taiwan, Canada, USA, Myanmar, Iran and Tunisia.

Trailer

Skilled Curators and an Expert Team

Over 500 films from 67 countries in 60 competition and special programmes!

Choosing from more than 7,000 film entries once again proved to be our main summertime buzz: viewing in small teams till we dropped! An abundance of great films were played into curators' hands. In turn, the network of competent programmers stringently brought the mass of interesting films into the sharp and diverse focuses that became the festival.

Practice makes perfect: Every year, many parts of the team are pieced together anew (party staff, volunteers, interns, helpers) and this year's harmonious constellation was perfectly prepared to get everything wonderfully right. Our guests were happy, audiences satisfied and even staff at each of our event locations were full of praise.

New Formats and Popular Events

interfilm loves thematic programmes, carefully composed dramaturgy that creates an arc of suspense, allowing each 90 minute programme to become a complex narrative experience. Seven impressive competitions are our festival flagships.

Our new event formats stood the test: The Sound & Vision experience, where diverse musicians compose new soundtracks for films and perform them live, is now as popular as the cult screening eject, The Long Night of Odd Films. And this year's brand new Best of FullDome-Festival Jena that featured 360° projections at the Planetarium am Insulaner proved to be an overwhelmingly successful spectacle.

Whether at Queer Fever, Bike Shorts, David Bowie, Otto Sander, Dance Films, Metropolis Tokyo or the Social Media programme, or at the Film Quiz, silent movies accompanied by Stephan Graf v. Bothmer on piano, or at the shows from Rigoletti, or Wurfsendungen with renowned actor Florian Lukas, the Viral Video Award or at Swing Shorts, the audience thoroughly enjoyed the huge variety of short film happenings and the incredible festival spectrum.
 
interForum - the Fringe Programme for Industry Professionals

The platform for encounters, exchange and discussions was taken advantage of by 450 productively inspired attendees. From the cosy "German Kaffeekränzchen" to packed seminars, workshops and panel talks right up to the Australian / New Zealand reception, the first-ever interForum was a total buzzing triumph!

At the Script Pitch competition, thanks to 25p MEDIA GROUP, the British Council and NISI MASA, ten scripts competed for €1000 prize money. Thanks to the extraordinary engagement of the tutors who held the exclusive seminars: Wim Vanacker, Nadja Dumouchel and Tobias Munthte, the ten finalists intensively worked on the projects they then presented at the Script Pitch. The winner was Ina Nikolova from Bulgaria.

Enthusiasm reigned thanks to the diversity of the programme that ranged from small intensive hands-on workshops to seminar groups and screenings right up to large-scale meet & greets. After the master classes, participants often stayed on and continued discussions in smaller groups. Illuminating debates and projects were also held and presented in the panel talks and at Pitch me. - The interForum was a fabulous success that winningly combined further training and networking – a festival in a festival!

Celebrating the Short Film ...

It's all about content! 10 years ago "short film" was still a dirty word. But numerous activities - including those organised by interfilm - have turned things around and given the short film its due place in the film world and increasing public appeal. Many outstanding films - both funny and serious - have elevated the "short" to what it's currently known for: fresh and dynamic filmmaking.
 
... thanks to our enthusiastic partners!

We're nothing without our partners! Throughout the years we've had faithful partners at our side, boosting the festival and our mission to propogate the short film format. And every year the list keeps on growing. Our sincere thanks go out to everyone who supports the festival!

Once again: A big thank you to all prize sponsors, partners and sponsors!

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

29. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2013

Wir sind begeistert: Das 29. interfilm-Festival gelang uns erfreulich erfolgreich. Gäste aus aller Welt lobten die erlesene Filmauswahl, die gute Stimmung, die Locations, die Parties und Events.

Besucherrekord: 19.000 Gäste!

Die 80 Programme bei interfilm (130 Aufführungen) und 14 Programme bei KUKI (31 Aufführungen) in sieben Kinolocations waren bestens besucht: mit 19.000 Besuchern konnte interfilm einen neuen Rekord aufstellen. Die Kreation neuer Eventideen rund um den Kurzfilm hat sich gelohnt, wir werden 2014 so manche Innovation dieses Jahres wieder aufnehmen und freuen uns schon!

Mehr als 500 Gäste waren akkreditiert, über 200 internationale und deutsche Filmemacher kamen und über 300 Fachpublikumsgäste genossen das Event. Filmschaffende aus 35 Ländern waren zu Gast - u.a. aus Brasilien, Taiwan, Kanada, USA, Myanmar, Iran und Tunesien.

Trailer

Kompetente Kuratoren & ein professionelles Team

Über 500 Filme aus 67 Ländern in 80 Wettbewerbs- und Spezialprogrammen!

Aus 7000 Filmeinreichungen auszuwählen war erneut der zentrale sommerliche Kick. Sichten im Team bis an die Grenze der Kraft. Reichlich gute Werke wurden den Kuratoren zugespielt. Das Netzwerk kompetenter Programmgestalter wiederum brachte die Masse interessanter Filme stringent auf jenen Fokus, zu dem das Festival wurde.

Festival will geübt sein: Das wie jedes Jahr in weiten Teilen neu aufgestellte Team (feste und freie Mitarbeiter, Praktikanten und Volunteers) war aufs Schönste vorbereitet, die Durchführung perfekt hinzubekommen. Gäste zeigten sich glücklich, Besucher zufrieden, und auch die Veranstaltungsorte sind voll des Lobs.

Neue Formate und erfolgreiche Events

Filmprogramme sind das Eine: interfilm liebt thematische Programme, die in kompositorischer Dramaturgie Spannungsbögen herstellen und in je 90 Minuten ein narrativ komplexes Erlebnis bieten. Stattliche sieben Wettbewerbe sind die Flagschiffe des Festivals.

Neue Formate bestanden den Test: Das Event Sound & Vision, bei dem eine Schar diverser Musiker Filme live vertont, ist mittlerweile so angesehen wie die Kultshow eject, die lange Nacht des abwegigen Films. Und ganz aktuell war das Best of FullDome-Festival Jena mit 360° Projektion im Planetarium am Insulaner ein überaus erfolgreiches Spektakel.

Ob Queer Fever, Bike Shorts, David Bowie, Otto Sander, Tanzfilme, Metropole Tokio oder ein Social Media Programm, ob Filmquiz, Stummfilme von Stephan Graf v. Bothmer am Piano begleitet, ob Shows von Rigoletti, Wurfsendungen mit Florian Lukas, Viral Video Award oder Swing Shorts, das Publikum hat das multiple Kurzfilmgeschehen gewertschätzt und die Vielfalt des Festivals genossen.
 
interForum - das Programm für Fachbesucher

Die Plattform für Begegnung, Austausch und Diskussion nutzten 450 Besucher zur produktiven Inspiration. Vom netten "German Kaffeekränzchen" über volle Seminare, Workshops, Masterclasses und Panels bis hin zum Australien-Empfang wurde das erstmals angebotene interForum bestens angenommen.

Beim Script Pitch Wettbewerb waren dank 25p MEDIA GROUP, dem British Council und NISI MASA zehn Drehbücher im Rennen um 1000 Euro Preisgeld. Die zehn Finalisten arbeiteten dank des außerordentlichen Engagements der Tutoren der exklusiven Seminare Wim Vanacker, Nadja Dumouchel und Tobias Munthte intensiv an den Projekten, die sie beim Script Pitch präsentierten. Gewinnerin wurde Ina Nikolova aus Bulgarien.

Große Begeisterung herrschte dank der Vielfalt des Programms von kleinen arbeitsintensiven hands-on Workshops über Seminargruppen und Screenings bis hin zu großen Meet & Greets. In den Masterclasses wurde in kleineren Diskussionsrunden nach den Veranstaltungen stets weiterdiskutiert. Erhellend die Auseinandersetzungen und Projekte auch in den Panels und bei Pitch me. - Das interForum war ein voller Erfolg zwischen Weiterbildung und Kennenlernen – ein Festival im Festival.

Spaß mit Tradition ...

Auf den Inhalt kommt es an! Vor 10 Jahren war "Kurzfilm" noch eine Art Schimpfwort. Zahlreiche Aktivitären - auch die von interfilm - wirkten dagegen und haben dem Kurzfilm den verdienten Stellenwert sowohl im Bereich Film als auch in der gesellschaftlicher Breitenwirkung gebracht. Herausragende Filme adelten - ob lustig oder ernst - das "Kurze" als Kür des dynamischen und unabhängigen Filmschaffens.
 
... dank engagierter Partner!

Auf die Partner kommt es an! Seit Jahren stehen uns treue Partner zur Seite, das Festival und unsere Mission für den Kurzfilm zu stärken. Jährlich kommen neue hinzu. Unser Dank an alle, die das Festival unterstützen!

Allen Preisgebern, Partnern und Sponsoren vielen Dank!