Festival archive

mobile navigation

34th International Shortfilm Festival Berlin 2018

WEBSITE <<

20 - 25 November 2018

At 9 Berlin venues interfilm celebrated 400 films from more than 60 countries in more than 50 programs. With 20,000 visitors and 700 accredited guests from all over the world, the festival came to a euphoric close with an exceptional array of winning films. 17 prizes worth 35,000 euros were conferred.

The award for Best Film, endowed with 6000,- Euro by Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, went to the intoxicating comedy "How it Feels to be Hungover" by Viktor Hertz from Sweden. Both the award winner of Best Live Action - the refugee tragedy "Dark Chamber" by Otto Banovits (Sweden / Hungary) - and Best Animation - the underwater parable "Plankton" by Gustaf Lindstrom (England) - scored points towards an ®Oscar, because as of this festival edition the winners of these interfilm categories are automatically in the running for a nomination at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles (info below).

Trailer

Impressions

Oscar® Update 2018

interfilm: Oscar® Qualifying Festival!

2018 kicks-off with a bang! The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles has declared interfilm an Academy Award® Qualifying Festival. As of now, winning films in the categories “Best Fiction” and “Best Animation” in the International Competition of the interfilm festival will automatically be considered to compete for an OSCAR® in the categories "Live Action Short" and "Animated Short Film".

The interfilm Festival thereby joins the ranks of OSCAR® relevant festivals such as the Berlinale, Sundance, Clermont-Ferrand, Annecy, BAFTA, Montreal, Seattle and Tampere just to name a few. Naturally, all further ACADEMY AWARD® criteria must be met.

“This is tremendous news,” exclaims Festival Director Heinz Hermanns, “especially considering our immense passion for extraordinary animation and sharp fiction”. Our colleagues at Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg are equally enthusiastic: “We have been delighted by interfilm’s growing success for many years and are proud that they have now too, been acknowledged by Hollywood”, asserts Kirsten Niehuus from Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. “Through this qualification, interfilm has been conferred with an OSCAR® of its own”. Even Björn Böhning, Head of the Senate Chancellery of the Federal State of Berlin is thrilled: “My many visits to the festival have led me to become an interfilm fan. It’s great that the ACADEMY is of the same opinion. I’m already looking forward to November!”

And speaking of Oscar®-Shorts: interfilm distribution will show the 2018 nominated shorts in the sections LIVE ACTION and ANIMATION in 2 programs exclusively in German, Austrian and Swiss cinemas. The release date is the 1st of March 2018.

The interfilmers are already gearing up for another round of selection viewing for the 34th International Short Film Festival Berlin, which will be held from November 19 to 25, 2018. The call for entries opens on February 1! - Enter films now!

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

34. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2018

WEBSITE <<

20. - 25. November 2018

An 9 Berliner Spielorten feierte interfilm 400 Filme aus mehr als 60 Ländern in mehr als 50 Programmen. Mit 20.000 Besuchern und 700 akkreditierten Gästen aus aller Welt ging das Festival mit spannenden Gewinnerfilmen erfolgreich zu Ende. Es wurden 17 Preise im Wert von 35.000 Euro vergeben.

Der von der Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg mit 6000,- Euro dotierte Beste Film ging an die Suffkomödie „How it feels to be hungover“ von Viktor Hertz aus Schweden. Sowohl der Preisgewinner Bester Spielfilm – die Flüchtlingstragödie „Dark Chamber“ von Otto Banovits (Schweden / Ungarn) -, als auch Beste Animation – die Fischparabel „Plankton“ von Gustaf Lindstrom (England) – erzielten Punktsiege in Richtung ®Oscar, denn seit dieser Festivalausgabe gehen die Gewinner dieser interfilm-Kategorien ins Rennen um die Nominierung der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles (info unten).

Trailer

Impressions

Oscar® Update 2018

Großes Kino 2018: Die Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles hat interfilm Berlin zum Academy Qualifying® Festival gekürt. Die Gewinnerfilme "Best Fiction" und "Best Animation" im Internationalen Wettbewerb des interfilm Festivals werden damit ab sofort automatisch im Rennen um den OSCAR® in den Kategorien "Live Action Short" und "Animated Short Film" berücksichtigt.

Damit reiht sich das interfilm Festival neben Berlinale, Dok Leipzig, Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart, Kurzfilmtage und Deutscher Kurzfilmpreis in die noch sehr überschaubare Gruppe OSCAR®-relevanter Festivals in Deutschland ein. Neben der Qualifikation durch das interfilm Festival müssen die Filme alle weiteren ACADEMY AWARD®-Kriterien erfüllen.

„Das ist eine großartige Nachricht,“ so Festivaldirektor Heinz Hermanns, „zumal unsere Leidenschaft für außergewöhnliche Animationen und pointiert dramaturgisierte Spielfilme riesig ist“. Die Kollegen und Kolleginnen der Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg sind ebenfalls begeistert: „Wir sind stolz, daß interfilm, deren Erfolg wir seit vielen Jahren mit Freude beobachten, nun in Hollywood ankam“, so Kirsten Niehuus. „Durch die Qualifizierung hat interfilm geradezu selbst einen OSCAR® erhalten“. Auch Björn Böhning, Staatssekretär und Chef der Senatskanzlei Berlin ist erfreut: „Durch meine mehrfachen Besuche beim Festival bin ich interfilm-Fan geworden. Toll, daß es der ACADEMY ähnlich geht. Ich freue mich schon auf November!“

Apropos Oscar®-Shorts: Der interfilm Verleih zeigt die Nominierungen 2018 der Kurzfilmsektionen LIVE ACTION und ANIMATION in 2 Programmen exklusiv in deutschen, österreichischen und schweizer Kinos. Kinostart ist der 1. März 2018.