Festival archive

mobile navigation

KUKI 12 - International Short Film Festival for Children and Youth Berlin 2019

WEBSITE <<

3 - 10 November 2019

Record attendance 9000! 8 days of KUKI confetti spirit have come and gone in a rainbow blast of extraordinary shortfilms, laughter, burning questions, some tears and newly discovered perspectives and horizons. KUKI stuck to its traditional framework of 13 programs aimed at the hungriest and most challenging age groups of all: 4-18. Each program had something to be amazed, amused and inspired by and lively audience discussions covered topics ranging from what filmmakers earn and why grownups so rarely apologise for their own bad behaviour, to whether women really do bleed or if it's ok for your mum to stalk your YouTube chat....

Trailer

Visiting filmmakers raved about the fun atmosphere and full cinemas, all of them saying how eye-opening it was to watch their films with the honest and direct interaction of the young viewers and how much they learned in the process too! In times such as these, when freedom of speech, movement and action are under threat, here in Germany and all over the world, the communal interactions and creative exchanges possible at such film festivals works against ignorance and prejudice, and instead inspires participation, empathy, curiosity, critical thought and a sense of belonging.

The party-hard KUKI team were the first to rise for the early morning school screenings  and the last to leave the interfilm dance floors late at night, spreading catchy songs and silly dances wherever they went. The Opening and Award ceremonies were bursting with kids, balloons, popcorn and buttons - while the more radical screenings for older teens such as Girls* Riot (a feminist program curated and presented  by 15-17-year-old girls) left even the adults in the audience astounded, educated and empowered.

Three young juries awarded 3000€ in prizes and glitter-globe trophies (handmade by the KUKI crew) to three films: LUCKY TICKET by Russian director Andrey Naimanov for its young protagonist's tenacity (Best Film for Young Children); the empathetic and beautifully crafted claymation TEOFRASTUS directed by Sergei Kibus from Estonia (Best Film for Children); the Belgian/French film MATRIOCHKAS by Bérangère McNeese for its convincing actors and timely message concerning the current pro choice debate (Best Film for Youth). The audience award for Best Children's Documentary went to the playfully inspiring A FIELD GUIDE TO BEING A 12-YEAR-OLD GIRL directed by Tilda Cobham-Hervey from Australia and the special FBW Award was conferred to the German filmmaker Chiara Fleischhacker for her insightful and shimmering chamber-piece WHAT REMAINS.

KUKI-Opening

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

KUKI 12 - Internationales Kurzfilmfestival für Kinder und Jugendliche Berlin 2019

WEBSITE <<

3. - 10. November 2019

Besucherrekord von 9000! - 8 Tage KUKI Konfetti-Geist sind gekommen und gegangen in einem Regenbogenschauer von außergewöhnlichen Kurzfilmen, Lachen, brennenden Fragen, einigen Tränen und neu entdeckten Perspektiven und Horizonten. KUKI hielt an seinem traditionellen Rahmen von 13 Programmen fest, die sich an die hungrigsten und anspruchsvollsten Altersgruppen von allen richteten: 4-18 Jährige. Jedes Programm hatte etwas zu staunen, zu amüsieren und zu inspirieren und die Diskussionen des Publikums reichten von dem, was Filmemacher verdienen und warum sich Erwachsene so selten für ihr eigenes schlechtes Verhalten entschuldigen, bis hin, ob Frauen wirklich bluten oder ob es in Ordnung ist, dass deine Mutter deinen YouTube-Chat verfolgt.......

Trailer

Besuchende Filmemacher*innen schwärmten von der fröhlichen Atmosphäre und den vollen Kinos und betonten alle, wie aufschlussreich es war, ihre Filme mit der ehrlichen und direkten Interaktion der jungen Zuschauer zu sehen und wie viel sie dabei gelernt haben! In Zeiten wie diesen, in denen die Meinungs-, Bewegungs- und Handlungsfreiheit bedroht ist, hier in Deutschland und auf der ganzen Welt, wirken die gemeinschaftlichen Interaktionen und der kreative Austausch auf solchen Filmfestivals gegen Unwissenheit und Vorurteile und inspirieren stattdessen zur Teilnahme, Empathie, Neugier, zum kritischen Denken und zum Zugehörigkeitsgefühl.

Das partyfeste KUKI-Team war das erste, das für die Schulvorführungen am frühen Morgen aufstand und das letzte, das die Interfilm-Tanzflächen spät in der Nacht verließ, um eingängige Lieder und alberne Tänze zu verbreiten, wohin sie auch gingen. Die Eröffnungs- und Preisverleihungszeremonien waren voller Kinder, Ballons, Popcorn und Buttons - während die radikaleren Vorführungen für ältere Teenager wie Girls* Riot (ein feministisches Programm, das von 15-17-jährigen Mädchen kuratiert und präsentiert wurde) selbst die Erwachsenen im Publikum verblüfft, gebildet und gestärkt zurückließen.

Drei junge Jurys vergaben 3000€ an Preisen und Glitzerkugel-Trophäen (handgefertigt von der KUKI-Crew) an drei Filme: LUCKY TICKET des russischen Regisseurs Andrey Naimanov für die Hartnäckigkeit seines jungen Protagonisten (Bester Film für Kleinkinder); die einfühlsame und schön gestaltete Claymation TEOFRASTUS unter der Regie von Sergei Kibus aus Estland (Bester Film für Kinder); der belgisch-französische Film MATRIOCHKAS von Bérangère McNeese für seine überzeugenden Darsteller und die zeitnahe Botschaft zur aktuellen Pro-Choice-Debatte (Bester Film für Jugendliche). Der Publikumspreis für den besten Kinderdokumentarfilm ging an das spielerisch inspirierende A FIELD GUIDE TO BEING A 12-YEAR-OLD GIRL unter der Regie von Tilda Cobham-Hervey aus Australien und der spezielle FBW Award wurde an die deutsche Filmemacherin Chiara Fleischhacker für ihr aufschlussreiches und schimmerndes Kammerstück WAS BLEIBT vergeben.

KUKI-Eröffnung