36th International Short Film Festival Berlin 2020
10 - 15 November 2020

Jury members 2020

International Competition

Isabella Parkinson

Isabella Parkinson (GER/BRA) is a German-Brazilian film and theatre actress who resides in Berlin and Rio de Janeiro. She has appeared in over 40 television and cinema film productions and is a member of the German Film Academy and the European Film Academy. - Foto: (c) Teresa Marenzi

Adolfo J. Kolmerer

Adolfo J. KOLMERER (VEN) is an award winning film and commercial director based in Berlin. While learning German he was invited to visit a movie set and found his true calling: making films. He learned the ropes of filmmaking quickly and never looked back. He has been doing his dream job ever since - shooting feature films, TV series and commercials including Sløborn (2020), Abikalypse (2019) and Schneeflöckchen (2017).  - Foto: (c) Lars Nitschke

Weronika Bilska

Weronika Bilska (POL) graduated from the Krzysztof Kieślowski Faculty of Radio and Television in Katowice. She has shot several documentaries and narrative films that were well received at festivals, is a winner of the Golden Tadpole Award (2009) at the Camerimage Festival and has been honoured for the cinematography of the documentary “Close Ties”, which was included in the Oscar shortlist for 2016. Her cinematography includes Kamper (directed by Łukasz Grzegorzek) and Waves (directed by Grzegorz Zariczny).  - Foto: (c) Tomasz Szołtys

Confrontation Competition

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt (GER) is one of three artistic directors and initiator of the international football film festival “11mm”, which takes place annually in Berlin and is the first festival of its kind. He is an education researcher and a recipient of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany “for his extraordinary commitment to political education and propagating the values of the German constitution”.

Nazeeha Saeed

Nazeeha Saeed (BHR) is a Bahraini journalist with twenty years of experience in reporting. She works for international print, radio and TV media and has specialized in the coverage of human rights and political stories. She has won many awards in journalism, most notably of all the Johann Philipp Palm Award for Freedom of Speech and the Press in 2014. Saeed advocates for freedom of press and expression and offers safety training for journalists.

Niels Boel

Niels Boel (DK) is a filmmaker, film producer, journalist and author of books about US and international politics. He has directed a dozen films, written many articles about human rights and international politics and produced radio programs for the Danish Broadcasting Corporation. UNESCO recently presented his work regarding indigenous peoples, in particular see https://en.unesco.org/courier/2019-1/videos-voices-indigenous-peoples. He is a consultant with human rights programmes of a number of organizations and works as an electoral observer in a wide range of countries for the EU and OSCE.

Dokumentary Film Competition

Annekatrin Hendel

Annekatrin Hendel (GER) founded  IT WORKS! Medien GmbH in 2004, where she successfully produced nearly 30 fiction-feature and documentary films. Since 2011, the Grimme Award winner has also directed award winning films (SCHÖNHEIT & VERGÄNGLICHKEIT, FAMILIE BRASCH, FÜNF STERNE, FASSBINDER, ANDERSON, VATERLANDSVERRÄTER, FLAKE) that have all been featured at renowned film festivals (Berlinale, IDFA ). She is a member of the board of directors of the German Film Academy and the documentary film jury of BKM.  - Foto: (c) Martin Farkas

Piotr Rosolowski

Piotr Rosolowski (POL) is a Berlin based director, cinematographer & co - author of Documentary Films which won many awards and screened at numerous prestigious film festivals. I.a. Rabbit a la Berlin (Oscar nomination), Domino Effect (Golden Dove Award at the International Film Festival DOK Leipzig and the Golden Horn at the Krakow Film Festival) and The Prince and the Dybbuk (Best Documentary at the 74th Venice Film Festival).

Marco Wilms

Marco Wilms (GER) is a director and producer at HELDENFILM. He studied scenography and directing at HFF Potsdam Babelsberg and has made documentaries for cinema release like TAILOR MADE DREAMS, COMRADE COUTURE, ART WAR and METAL POLITICS TAIWAN.

German Competition

Renate Heilmeier

Renate Heilmeier (GER) works as an expert in the field of film at the Goethe Institute. As a journalist, she has written on cultural and cinema topics for radio and organised cinema film series. - Foto: (c) Loredana La Rocca

Marleen Lohse

Marleen Lohse (GER) performs on renowned theatre stages as well as in cinema, including roles in The Fifth Estate (2013), Die Schule der magischen Tiere (2019), Cleo (2019). Her TV acting appearances include Bella Germania (2017) and Nord bei Nordwest (since 2014, ARD). She plays the lead in the multi-award-winning short film Rhino Full Throttle and co-wrote the screenplay (with Erik Schmitt) for the cinema feature Cleo, in which she also plays the title character. She is currently a member of the main cast for the mini-series “Katakomben”.  - Foto: (c) Max Sonnenschein

Maria Steinmetz

Maria Steinmetz (GER) studied animation at the Konrad Wolf Film and Television Academy (HFF) in Potsdam and was subsequently a master student of Prof. Frank Geßner. Since 2014, she has worked as a freelance film animator and director based in Berlin. Her films Changeling (2011), Macramé (2014), The Mosquito Pieks (2017) and Memorie di Alba (2019) enjoyed successful screenings at numerous international festivals. - Foto: (c) Jan Steinmetz

36. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2020
10. - 15. November 2020

Jurymitglieder 2020

Internationaler Wettbewerb

Isabella Parkinson

Isabella Parkinson (GER/BRA) ist eine deutsch-brasilianische Film- und Theaterschauspielerin, die in Berlin und Rio de Janeiro lebt. Sie hat in über 40 Fernseh- und Kinofilmproduktionen mitgewirkt und ist Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie und der Europäischen Filmakademie. - Foto: (c) Teresa Marenzi

Regina Pessoa

Regina Pessoa (PT) ist Animationsfilmemacherin und bekannt für ihre Arbeiten The Night (1999), Tragic Story with Happy Ending (2006) und Kali, the Little Vampire (2012). Sie verwendet verschiedene Gravurtechniken, vom Gips bis zum Computer: "vom Stein zum Pixel". Ihre Filme haben in der ganzen Welt Preise gewonnen (Grand Prix SICAF 2006, Grand Prix Annecy'06, Grand Prix Animated Shorts SXSW 2007, "Oscars" 2007 Shortlist u.a.). Ihr neuester Film "Uncle Thomas - accounting for the days" (2019) gewann weltweit mehr als 28 Preise.  - Foto: (c) Rui Farinha

Adolfo J. Kolmerer

Adolfo J. Kolmerer (VEN) ist ein preisgekrönter Film- und Werberegisseur mit Sitz in Berlin. Während er Deutsch lernte, wurde er zu einem Filmset eingeladen und fand seine wahre Berufung: Filme machen. Er lernte schnell die Kunst des Filmemachens und schaute nie zurück. Seitdem erfüllt er seinen Traumberuf - er dreht Spielfilme, Fernsehserien und Werbespots, darunter Sløborn (2020), Abikalypse (2019) und Schneeflöckchen (2017).  - Foto: (c) Lars Nitschke

Weronika Bilska

Weronika Bilska (POL) ist Absolventin der Krzysztof Kieślowski Fakultät für Radio und Fernsehen in Kattowitz. Sie drehte mehrere Dokumentar- und Erzählfilme, die erfolgreich auf internationalen Festivals liefen, ist Preisträgerin des Golden Tadpole Award (2009) des Camerimage Festival und wurde für die Kinematographie des Dokumentarfilms "Close Ties" geehrt, der für die Oscar Shortlist nominiert war. Zu ihren filmischen Arbeiten gehören Kamper (Regie: Łukasz Grzegorzek) und Waves (Regie: Grzegorz Zariczny).  - Foto: (c) Tomasz Szołtys

Konfrontationen Wettbewerb

Birger Schmidt

Birger Schmidt (GER) ist einer der drei künstlerischen Leiter und Initiator des ersten und jährlich in Berlin stattfindenden internationalen Fußballfilmfestivals „11mm“. Er ist Erziehungswissenschaftler und Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes „für sein herausragendes Engagement in der politischen Bildung und bei der Vermittlung der Werte des Grundgesetzes“.

Nazeeha Saeed

Nazeeha Saeed (BHR) ist eine bahrainische Journalistin mit zwanzig Jahren Erfahrung in der Berichterstattung. Sie arbeitet für internationale Print-, Radio- und TV-Medien und hat sich auf die Berichterstattung im Bereich den Bereich internationalePolitik und Menschenrechte spezialisiert. Sie hat viele Preise im Bereich Journalismus gewonnen, allen voran den Johann-Philipp-Palm-Preis für Rede- und Pressefreiheit im Jahr 2014. Saeed setzt sich für die Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit ein und bietet Sicherheitstrainings für Journalisten an.

Niels Boel

Niels Boel (DK) ist Filmemacher, Filmproduzent, Journalist und Autor. Seine Büchern befassen sich mit US-amerikanischer und internationaler Politik. Er hat bei einem Dutzend Filmen Regie geführt, viele Artikel über Menschenrechte und internationale Politik geschrieben und Radioprogramme für den dänischen Rundfunk produziert. Die UNESCO hat kürzlich seine Arbeit über indigene Völker vorgestellt: https://en.unesco.org/courier/2019-1/videos-voices-indigenous-peoples. Er ist als Berater für Menschenrechtsprogramme einer Reihe von Organisationen tätig und arbeitet als Wahlbeobachter für die EU und die OSZE in einer Vielzahl von Ländern.

Dokumentarfilmwettbewerb

Annekatrin Hendel

Annekatrin Hendel (GER) gründete 2004 IT WORKS! Medien GmbH und produzierte dort erfolgreich fast 30 Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme. Seit 2011 führt die Grimmepreisträgerin auch Regie u.a. der preisgekrönten Filme (SCHÖNHEIT & VERGÄNGLICHKEIT, FAMILIE BRASCH, FÜNF STERNE, FASSBINDER, ANDERSON, VATERLANDSVERRÄTER, FLAKE) die alle auf renommierten Filmfestivals liefen (Berlinale, IDFA u.a.) Sie ist Mitglied des Vorstandes der Deutschen Filmakademie und in der Jury Dokumentarfilm der BKM.  - Foto: (c) Martin Farkas

Piotr Rosolowski

Piotr Rosolowski (POL) ist ein in Berlin ansässiger Regisseur, Kameramann & Co - Autor von Dokumentarfilmen, die viele Preise gewonnen und auf zahlreichen renommierten Filmfestivals gezeigt worden sind. Unter anderem Kaninchen a la Berlin (Oscar-Nominierung), Domino-Effekt (Goldene Taube beim Internationalen Filmfestival DOK Leipzig und das Goldene Horn beim Krakauer Filmfestival) und Der Prinz und der Dybbuk (Bester Dokumentarfilm bei den 74. Filmfestspielen von Venedig).

Marco Wilms

Marco Wilms (GER) ist Regisseur und Produzent bei HELDENFILM. Er studierte Szenografie und Regie an der HFF Potsdam Babelsberg und drehte Dokumentarfilme für die Kinoauswertung wie TAILOR MADE DREAMS, COMRADE COUTURE, ART WAR und METAL POLITICS TAIWAN.

Deutscher Wettbewerb

Renate Heilmeier

Renate Heilmeier (GER) arbeitet als Referentin Film beim Goethe-Institut. Als Journalistin schrieb sie über Kultur- und Filmthemen für den Hörfunk und organisierte Kino-Filmreihen.  - Foto: (c) Loredana La Rocca

Marleen Lohse

Marleen Lohse (GER) spielt an renommierten Bühnen ebenso wie im Kino: The Fifth Estate (2013), Die Schule der magischen Tiere (2019), Cleo (2019) und TV: Bella Germania (2017) und Nord bei Nordwest (seit 2014, ARD). Sie spielt die Hauptrolle in dem vielfach prämierten Kurzfilm Nashorn im Galopp und schrieb mit Erik Schmitt u.a. das Drehbuch für den Kinofilm Cleo, in dem sie die Titelfigur verkörpert. Aktuell gehört sie zum Hauptcast der Miniserie Katakomben.  - Foto: (c) Max Sonnenschein

Maria Steinmetz

Maria Steinmetz (GER) studierte Animation an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Konrad Wolf (HFF) in Potsdam und absolvierte danach ein Meisterschülerstudium bei Prof. Frank Geßner. Seit 2014 arbeitet sie als freiberufliche Trickfilmanimatorin und Regisseurin in Berlin. Ihre Filme Der Wechselbalg (2011), Macramé (2014), Die Mücke Pieks (2017) und Memorie di Alba (2019) liefen erfolgreich auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals.  - Foto: (c) Jan Steinmetz