34th International Short Film Festival Berlin 2018
Script Pitch 2018

Script Pitch 2018 - interfilm's international competition for short scripts

The selected finalists

We are happy to present this year's selected finalists of interfilm's Script Lab and Script Pitch.

Aleksandra Lazarovski / Serbia / "Zvezdana"
Britt Raes / Belgium / "Neko & Sue"
Franka Sachse / Germany / "The Strange Geometry of Love"
Jamie Delaney / Ireland / "Biscuits"
Marianne Lentz / Denmark / "Release"
Nadya Todorova / Bulgaria / "Slamming Doors"
Polen Ly / Cambodia / "Daily Ink"
Summer Agnew / New Zealand / "The Daughter"

Read more about the finalists and their projects here.

About the scripts

In ZVEZDANA, a young Serb strolls through downtown Belgrade in an attempt to grasp the course of life. She had just been offered a ride by a Bosnian man in a lovingly equipped truck. “I could drive forever,” they both state together. In contrast to verbally expressing thoughts, in NEKO & SUE, the images create new perspectives. What would happen if people were tiny and became “pets”? If they were to naively look for closeness in animals, always ignorant whether they are accepted or not. Just as intuitively, three young people in THE STRANGE GEOMETRY OF LOVE meet daily on the bus. They try to interpret from the slightest of gestures whether or not their feelings are reciprocated. Who loves whom? In BISCUIT, gestures become statements at the crossroads of Christian marriage and homosexuality, leading to a moral crossfire. But is there a right and a wrong? The same question lingers on an island in DAILY INK where people are blindly led by preconceived notions until a young woman brings true news to light. In RELEASE, the truth weighs heavily when Johanne realizes that she can’t be a mother to her daughter every moment of her mental illness, despite trying to do it so lovingly. And similarly, there is Freddie, who in THE DAUGHTER goes on a search for the daughter he abandoned. The accidental encounter with Eloise, a telephone sex worker, becomes a necessary journey into the past of both people. In SLAMMING DOORS, it’s the chance encounter in front of a locked front door that leads to a wild battle of words and finally to new decisions in life. Eight stories show once more that it is necessary to overcome hurdles, to bolster oneself, to show understanding, and above all to know oneself in order to be ready for more openness, kindness, and curiosity in dealing with one another in this world.

Program

In addition to the Script Pitch competition all participants are provided with a three-days Script Lab and a pitch training to accompany the competition from 21st November until 24th November 2018. In the frame of the practical and stimulating workshop programme the selected finalists will take part in both a seminar on script development to sharpen the participants’ creative skills with writer filmmaker Marijana Verhoef (SRB) as well as writer and actress Julia Penner (DE) and a pitch training to evaluate the live performance of each contestant by script consultant and coach Gabriele Brunnenmeyer (DE). Actress and trainer Andrea Schwemmer (DE) coaches the participants in their public appearance, body awareness and explores breath techniques on stage.

20.11. / 10 am - 4 pm / Script Consulting (non-public)
21.11. / 10 am - 4 pm / Script Delevopment & Voice & Body Awareness (non-public)
22.11. / 10 am - 1 pm / Script Develeopment 2 pm - 7 pm / One-to-One with Jan Harlan (non-public)
23.11. / 10 am - 4 pm / Pitch Training (non-public)
24.11. / 11 am - 1 pm / Script Pitch (public)

Script Pitch participants will be given the opportunity to meet international filmmakers, writers and industry experts at exclusive networking events at the International Short Film Festival interfilm Berlin.

On 24th November 2018 the eight finalists will have 5 minutes to present their projects and convince the international jury of their idea.

The event will be held in English and is aimed at industry guests. Please register via interforum@interfilm.de.

Contact

General inquiries
interforum@interfilm.de

Nele Luise Fritzsche
Artistic Director Script Pitch & Script Lab
nele.f@interfilm.de
 

Partner

34. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin
Script Pitch 2018

Script Pitch – der Drehbuchwettbewerb 2018

Die diesjährigen Finalistinnen und Finalisten für Script Lab und Script Pitch sind ausgewählt. Wir freuen uns, im Rahmen des interfilm Festivals acht Projekte aus aller Welt präsentieren zu können!

Aleksandra Lazarovski / Serbien / "Zvezdana"
Britt Raes / Belgien / "Neko & Sue"
Franka Sachse / Deutschland / "The Strange Geometry of Love"
Jamie Delaney / Irland / "Biscuits"
Marianne Lentz / Dänemark / "Release"
Nadya Todorova / Bulgarien / "Slamming Doors"
Polen Ly / Kambodscha / "Daily Ink"
Summer Agnew / Neuseeland / "The Daughter"

Erfahrt hier mehr zu den Finalistinnen und Finalisten des diesjährigen Script Pitch.

Über die ausgewählten Drehbücher

In ZVEZDANA streift eine junge Serbin durch die Belgrader Innenstadt im Versuch den Lauf des Lebens zu greifen. Sie ist allein, wie der Bosnier, der sie in seinem im liebevoll ausgestatteten Truck mitnimmt, der sein Zuhause ist. „Ich könnte ewig so fahren,“ stellen beide gemeinsam fest. Anders als Worte sind es in NEKO & SUE Bilder, die neue Perspektiven schaffen. Wie wäre es, wenn Menschen als „tiny humans“ zu Haustieren würden? Wenn sie naiv bei Tieren nach Nähe suchten, ohne zu wissen, ob sie angenommen werden oder nicht. Ebenso intuitiv begegnen sich in THE STRANGE GEOMETRY OF LOVE im Bus täglich drei junge Menschen. In kleinsten Gesten versuchen sie zu lesen, ob ihre Gefühle gespiegelt werden. Wer liebt wen? In BISCUIT werden Gesten zum Statement, wenn die Verteidigung der christlichen Ehe und das Ausleben von Homosexualität aufeinandertreffen und zum Kreuzfeuer moralischer Argumente führt. Doch gibt es richtig und falsch? Die gleiche Frage schwebt in DAILY INK über einer Insel, auf der sich das Volk durch vorgefertigte Meinungen blind führen lässt, bis eine junge Frau wahre Nachrichten ans Licht bringt. In RELEASE wiegt die Wahrheit schwer, wenn Johanne begreift, dass sie ihrer psychischen Erkrankung wegen nicht in jedem Moment Mutter für ihre Tochter sein kann. Obwohl sie es so liebevoll versucht. Dem ähnlich macht sich Freddie in THE DAUGHTER auf die Suche nach der von ihm im Stich gelassenen Tochter. Die zufällige Begegnung mit der Sextelefonistin Eloise wird zu einer notwendigen Reise in die Vergangenheit. In SLAMMING DOORS ist es die Zufallsbegegnung vor verschlossener Haustür, die zum wilden Wortgefecht und letztendlich zu neuen Lebensentscheidungen führt. Acht Geschichten zeigen einmal mehr, dass es gilt Hürden zu nehmen, sich stark zu machen, Verständnis zu zeigen und vor allem, sich selbst zu kennen, um bereit zu sein für mehr Offenheit, Güte und Neugier im Miteinander auf dieser Welt.

Das Programm

Vom 21. bis 24. November 2018 können die acht ausgewählten Finalist*innen im dreitätigen Script Lab und Pitch-Training zusammen mit Experten ihre Drehbuchideen bearbeiten. In den ersten drei Tagen werden die dramaturgischen Grundlagen im Script Development und Script Consulting Seminar mit Autorin und Filmemacherin Marijana Verhoef (SRB) und Autorin und Schauspielerin Julia Penner (DE) unter die Lupe genommen. Die rhetorische Gewandtheit wird am vierten Tag im Pitching Seminar mit Projekt- und Drehbuchbetreuerin Gabriele Brunnenmeyer (DE) trainiert. Schauspielerin und Coach Andrea Schwemmer (DE) arbeitet mit den Teilnehmenden an ihrem öffentlichen Auftreten, der Körperwahnehmung und erkundet Atemtechniken für den Moment auf der Bühne.

20.11. / 10.00 Uhr - 16.00 Uhr / Script Consulting (nicht öffentlich)
21.11. / 10.00 Uhr - 16.00 Uhr / Script Delevopment & Voice & Body Awareness (nicht öffentlich)
22.11. / 10.00 Uhr - 13.00 Uhr / Script Develeopment / One-to-One mit Jan Harlan (nicht öffentlich)
23.11. / 10.00 Uhr - 16.00 Uhr / Pitch Training (nicht öffentlich)
24.11. / 11.00 Uhr - 13.00 Uhr / Script Pitch (öffentlich)

Neben dem Script Lab, sind die Teilnehmenden zu Festivalevents eingeladen, um Expert*innen aus der Branche zu treffen. Die Meet&Greet-Veranstaltungen bringen sie mit erfahrenen Produzent*innen, Festivals und Filmemacher*innen zusammen. 

Der Drehbuchwettbewerb, bei dem alle acht Ideen für neue animierte oder gespielte Kurzfilme präsentiert werden, findet am 24. November von 11.00 Uhr bis 13.00 Uhr im 3. Stock der Volksbühne statt.

Die Veranstaltung wird auf Englisch durchgeführt und richtet sich an Fachbesucherinnen und Fachbesucher. Anmeldung unter interforum@interfilm.de.

Kontakt

Allgemeine Fragen
interforum@interfilm.de

Nele Luise Fritzsche
Künstlerische Leitung Script Pitch & Script Lab
nele.f@interfilm.de
 

Partner