Festival archive

mobile navigation

27th International Shortfilmfestival Berlin 2011

500 films, 50 programmes, 6 competitions, international guests and festivals, close-ups and wide-angle views, ShortFriday, project presentations, concerts, parties ...

With an audience record of 16,000, the 27th International Short Film Festival Berlin came to a euphoric close on Sunday. 500 films from 68 countries were shown in 50 programmes during a successful festival week.

More than 500 accredited guests attended this year’s festival, 220 international and german filmmakers and 100 industry professionals,. Prizes amounting to € 36,000 were awarded in six competition categories.

A particular highlight of this year‘s interfilm Festival were the foreign focuses on Switzerland and Southeast Asia as well as the thematic spotlight on environment.

Trailer

Ambitious events and new programme formats also triumphed: At Sound & Vision we turned down the sound on 8 short films and invited 8 music acts and sound artists to create live soundtracks. The sold out show at the Volksbuehne’s main stage was an impressive aural and visual feat. The first-ever Film+Fertig was such an entertaining success that it looks as though the competition is here to stay: 5 film crews made 5 films featuring 5 criteria in 5 days. The winner was announced at the lively Film+Fertig awards ceremony. Further festival events included the cinematic guessing-game at interfilm Quiz Night, a film project exchange at Pitch me! as well as Film Salons and out-of-the-ordinary programming such as Bike Shorts (literally that), Critically Short (film critics’ favourite films), Decibel (short films about musicians and music), music videos and various parties. Once again interfilm celebrated the seemingly infinite diversity of filmmaking in highly original and unforgettable ways!

We called in the digital revolution and ended up with brilliant image quality: this year we decided to take the leap and screen festival films using a hard disk player. We were blown away by the system’s stability! The audience were treated to a stunning visual feast! Just 10 % of this year’s films were sent on 35mm while the rest, after uploading, instead of being shown in a Beta MP4 format, could be projected onto the screen in HD.

Impressions

ShortFriday / Pitch me

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

27. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2011

500 Filme in 50 Programmen, 6 Wettbewerben, 7 Kinos, mit Gästen, Delikatessen, Nahaufnahmen und Weitblick, Clips & Tracks, ShortFriday, Parties & Events ... Volksbühne, Babylon, Passage Kinos, Central Kino, Roter Salon, Grüner Salon

Mit einem Besucherrekord von über 16.000 Besuchern ging am Sonntag das interfilm – 27. Internationale Kurzfilmfestival Berlin erfolgreich zu Ende. Es wurden 500 Filme aus 68 Ländern in 50 Wettbewerbs- und Sonderprogrammen gezeigt.

Mehr als 500 akkreditierte Gäste besuchten in diesem Jahr das Festival, davon waren 220 internationale und deutsche Filmemacher und über 100 Gäste Fachpublikum. In sechs Wettbewerben wurden Preise im Wert von 36.000 € vergeben.

Ein besonderes Highlight des interfilm Festivals waren in diesem Jahr die Länderschwerpunkte Schweiz und Südostasien und der thematische Fokus Umwelt.

Trailer

Auch große Events und neue Formate liefen überaus erfolgreich: Bei Sound & Vision drehten wir 8 Kurzfilmen den Ton ab und ließen sie von 8 Musikern und Klangkünstlern live vertonen. Das fast ausverkaufte Spektakel im gossen Saal der Volksbühne war eine beeindruckende Show. Auch Film+Fertig dürfte sich als neues Format durchgesetzt haben: 5 Filmteams filmten nach Ausschreibung in 5 Tagen mit 5 Kriterien 5 Filme. In einer eigenen Preisverleihung wurde der beste prämiert. Mit Table Quiz, einem filmischen Ratespiel, Pitch me!, einem Come Together für Filmprojekte, Filmsalons und thematisch außergewöhnlichen Programmen wie die Bike Shorts oder Kurz vor Kritisch (Filmjournalisten zeigen Lieblingsfilme), Dezibel (Kurzfilme über Musiker und Musik), Musikvideos und Parties feierte das Festival die gesamte Breite des Filmschaffens auf vielfältige wie originelle Weise.

Die digitale Revolution zog ein und sorgte für brillante Bildqualität: Erstmals zeigten wir die Filme digital von Festplatte. Und waren überwältigt von der Stabilität des Systems. Das Publikum erlebte eine Augenweide. Nurmehr 10% Prozent der Filme wurden auf 35mm vorgeführt, alle anderen konnten als MP4 in HD auf die Leinwand gebracht werden.

Impressions

ShortFriday / Pitch me