Festival archive

mobile navigation

36th International Shortfilm Festival Berlin 2020

WEBSITE <<

11 November - 13 Dezember 2020

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!

The longest and most extraordinary festival in interfilm's and KUKI's history was a tremendous success: Over 18,800 digital cinema seats were filled! This gets close to a regular edition (in numbers at least) and we therefore owe a huge thank you to all our viewers.

None of this would have been possible without a reliable digital platform. Special thanks go to our partner Sooner, without whom we would not have managed such a smoothly-run digital festival, especially since the "smart lockdown" was announced just 10 days before the festival was due to begin. We had to reshuffle the festival in the blink of an eye, reallocating budgets, tasking departments with entirely new roles and  cancelling all travel arrangements.

Such a radical restructuring of the festival is of course only possible if one's supporting institutions continue to stand by them. Therefore our heartfelt thanks also go to all our festival partners, funders and sponsors, first and foremost Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, Creative Europe MEDIA and the German Federal Foreign Office!

Trailer

The interfilm & KUKI team mastered this challenging year and the peculiar circumstances with flying colours. With glittery outfits, disco lights and confetti, we celebrated the start and end of the respective digital editions separately and yet (virtually) together.

The experiences we were able to make in the digital realm will surely serve us well in the near and distant future.  But even if the digital floodgates have now been cranked open, the bottom line remains the same: interfilm and KUKI are film festivals.

Film festivals belong in the cinema, to be shared and experienced by crowds of people interacting and exchanging. Therefore, our priority is and will continue to be focussed on striving for on-site experiences.

Incidentally, to support the cinemas, 20 percent of the proceeds from Sooner and interfilm will go to the cinemas originally scheduled for the festival.

interfilm Festival Opening 2020

But the most important thing about a film festival are the films themselves. Here, too, we must express our deepest gratitude to the filmmakers who made it possible for us to present their films in a digital context, who made themselves available for digital Q&As, who participated in our digital networking events, and who encouraged us in these uncertain times.

interfilm awarded prizes worth more than a total of 40,000 euros. We are particularly delighted by the strong resonance that many of the award-winner's received in their respective countries, for example in the Philippines ("Tarang") and in Hong Kong ("1 a.m. in Hong Kong") - click here for the laudations.

INTERFORUM masterclasses and panels are still online, as are the ceremonies for the opening and awards events and the Decolonial x interfilm Short Film Walk through Berlin's history of European and German colonialism.

And while we are super pleased with our first digital festival edition, we really can't wait to (hopefully) hold a physical festival once again next year at our cool cinemas with lively audiences, crazy parties, too many drinks and wonderfully irritating & inspiring talks.

interfilm Award Ceremony 2020!

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

36. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2020

WEBSITE <<

11. November - 13. Dezember 2020

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!

Das längste und außergewöhnlichste Festival in interfilms und KUKIs Historie ist erfolgreich zu Ende gegangen: Über 18.800 digitale Kinoplätze wurden besetzt. Das ist fast so viel wie bei einer "normalen" Edition und hierfür möchten wir uns bei allen unseren Besucher*innen bedanken.

All dies wäre ohne eine solide digitale Plattform nicht möglich gewesen. Besonderer Dank gilt daher unserem Partner Sooner, ohne den wir kein digitales Festival geschafft hätten zumal der Smart-Lockdown 10 Tage vor Festival kam. In Windeseile musste umdisponiert werden, ganze Departments der Festivalorganisation bekamen neue Aufgaben, Reisen wurden storniert etc.

Eine solch radikale Neuorientierung des Festivals ist natürlich nur möglich, wenn die fördernden Insitutionen auch weiterhin hinter einem stehen. Unser tief empfundener Dank geht deshalb auch an alle Partner, Förderer und Sponsoren des Festivals, allen voran die Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, Creative Europe MEDIA und Auswärtiges Amt!

Trailer

Das interfilm & KUKI Team hat dieses besondere Jahr, diese besonderen Umstände, in die wir geworfen wurden, mit Bravour gemeistert. Getrennt und doch virtuell zusammen feierten wir mit Glitzer(be)kleid(ung), Discolicht und Konfetti den Auftakt und Abschluss der digitalen Ausgaben von interfilm & KUKI.

Die Erfahrungen, die wir dieses Jahr im digitalen Bereich machen konnten, werden für die nahe und ferne Zukunft noch sehr hilfreich sein, da sind wir uns sicher.  Aber auch wenn die Tore zu den digitalen Welten vielleicht etwas offener stehen, so gilt doch weiterhin: interfilm und KUKI sind Filmfestivals.

Filmfestivals gehören ins Kino! Dort sind sie - mit Menschen - erfahrbar und dort kann man sie (er)leben. Unsere Priorität soll und wird also weiterhin auf Vorort-Erlebnissen liegen.

Um die Kinos zu unterstützen, gehen übrigens 20 Prozent der Einnahmen von Sooner und interfilm an die ursprünglich geplanten Festivalkinos.

interfilm Festival Opening 2020

Aber das wichtigste an einem Filmfestival sind natürlich die Filme selbst. Auch hier müssen wir uns zutiefst bedanken, und zwar bei den Filmemacher*innen, die es uns ermöglicht haben, ihre Filme auch im digitalen Rahmen zu präsentieren, die uns für digitale Q&As bereitstanden, die an unseren digitalen Networking Events teilgenommen haben und die uns in dieser unsicheren Zeit ganz einfach Mut zusprachen.

interfilm vergab Preise im Welt von über 40.000 Euro. Wir freuen wir uns sehr über die starke Resonanz, die der Gewinn bei vielen Preisträger*innen im eigenen Land hervorgerufen hat, zum Beispiel in den Philippinen (Film "Tarang") und in Hong Kong (Film "1 a.m. in Hong Kong") - hier die Laudatios.

Masterclasses und Panels des INTERFORUMS sind nach wie vor online, ebenso die Festival-Eröffnung und die Preisverleihung und der Dekoloniale x interfilm Short Film Walk durch Berlins Geschichte von europäischem und deutschem Kolonialismus.

Wir sind sehr glücklich mit unserer ersten digitalen Festivalausgabe, aber freuen uns auch darauf, im kommenden Jahr (hoffentlich) wieder ein physisches Festival mit Kinos, Gästen, Parties, Drinks und langen Gesprächen zu haben.

interfilm Award Ceremony 2020!