Festival archive

mobile navigation

35th International Shortfilm Festival Berlin 2019

WEBSITE <<

5. - 10. November 2019

Record attendance and high spirits! interfilm is happy to have enthused 23,000 visitors for the 450 short films in the 60 programmes of the 35th festival edition. More than 1000 interested people saw the six programmes dedicated to "30 Years of Peaceful Revolution - Fall of the Wall" and KUKI delighted 9000 children and teenagers. We were particularly pleased that the big events in the grand hall of the Volksb├╝hne - including Opening Night, "Eject" and "Sound & Vision" - were sold out, as were "Virtual Reality" in the dome of the Zeiss Planetarium, the Award Ceremony and many other programs in smaller and larger cinemas.

The atmosphere was just incredible, with 500 accredited guests who ensured a productive exchange and international flair. Throughout the six festival days visitors were able to experience the fruits of a successfully organised festival. And Festival means celebration! The films were celebrated and the filmmakers present were the stars of the week, inspired by one another and captivated by the festival crew. Festival sponsors had fun, Berliners were able to immerse themselves in new realities within the wonderful worlds of short film and the cinemas located in several Berlin districts also enjoyed the extraordinary kick of the short.

What a great team! During the weeks of preparation for the festival, when everyone is at the limit of their resources, it became clear what "festival" actually means: to work together. And then, when it all starts, everything becomes a rush: films, filmmakers, conversations, inspirations, community and merciless organisational pressure merge into an intense experience alongside the filmmakers and audiences. Suddenly everything becomes one. While we can now emphasize that the team behind interfilm in 2019 was once again a dream team, one nevertheless needs to ask whether this is also appreciated externally, beyond the mediocre salaries or even voluntary work. The answer - while nodding to all the many smaller festivals - is a resounding yes and no. A big thank you to our sponsors! But there is a gap between logo-phobia, press ignorance and funding scepticism between the punching of the everyday work-clock at 6pm and the kind of event preparation that goes way beyond that hour. And only those who really attended the event will be able to confirm that it was brilliant. Theoretically, festivals are a luxury in the appendix of neocapitalism, but in practical terms, they comprise exactly the kind of pulsating life that is so often talked about when the so-called reality, with all its richness of diversity is under threat, as it is now.

There were parties too. They were wild and beautiful. And we are already looking forward to the next festival edition. Especially since we know that we have the opportunity to use all the short films to bridge the gap between social neurotic developments and humanity. - Be part of the movement!

Festival Archiv

mobile navigation

35. Internationales Kurzfilmfestival Berlin 2019

WEBSITE <<

5. - 10. November 2019

Besucherrekord und gute Laune! interfilm ist glücklich, 23.000 Besucher für die 450 Kurzfilme in den 60 Programmen der 35. Festivalausgabe begeistert zu haben. Über 1000 Interessierte sahen die sechs Programme zu "30 Jahre Friedliche Revolution - Mauerfall" und KUKI für Kids beglückte 9000 Kinder und Jugendliche. Toll, dass die Großveranstaltungen im großen Saal der Volksbühne - Eröffnung, "Eject" und "Sound & Vision" - ausverkauft waren und ebenso "Virtual Reality" im Kuppelsaal des Zeiss Großplanetariums wie auch die Preisverleihung und ganz viele Programme in kleineren und größeren Kinosälen.

Trailer

Die Stimmung war wirklich großartig. 500 Akkreditierte sorgten für produktiven Austausch und internationalen Flair. In den sechs Festivaltagen konnte man erleben, was es bedeutet, erfolgreich ein Festival zu veranstalten. Festival bedeutet Fest! Die Filme wurden gefeiert und die anwesenden Filmemacher waren als die Stars der Woche untereinander inspiriert und auch vom Team umgarnt. Festival-Partner hatten Spaß, Berliner konnten in den wunderbaren Kurzfilmwelten in neue Wirklichkeitshorizonte eintauchen und auch die Kinos in mehreren Berliner Stadtteilen erfreuten sich am außergewöhnlichen Kick des Kurzen.

Welch tolles Team! Schon in den wochenlangen Anstrengungen der Festivalvorbereitungen, wenn alle am Ende ihrer Kräfte sind, zeigte sich, was Festival bedeutet: Zusammenstehen. Und dann, wenn es los geht, wird alles zum Rausch: Filme, Filmemacher, Gespräche, Inspirationen, Gemeinschaft und gnadenloser Orga-Druck verschmelzen zu einem intensiven Erlebnis gemeinsam mit den Filmschaffenden und den Besuchern. Plötzlich wird alles eins. Und wenn nun betont werden kann, dass das interfilm-Team 2019 mal wieder ein Dream-Team war, so darf man dennoch fragen, ob dies jenseits von intern mittelmäßiger Bezahlung oder gar Freiwilligkeit auch extern gewürdigt wird. Und man kann - auch mit Grüßen an all die vielen kleineren Festivals - als Antwort nur ein säuerliches Jein geben. Unseren Partnern ein großes Dank! Doch zwischen Logo-Phobie, Presse-Ignoranz und Förderskepsis klafft die Lücke der 18-Uhr-Stechzeit-Normalität und die der 18-Uhr-Plus-Event-Vorbereitungszeit. Und nur wer dann wirklich dabei war beim Event, wird bestätigen können, dass es klasse war. Theoretisch sind Festivals ein Luxus im Wurmfortsatz des Neokapitals, ganz praktisch freilich sind sie genau das pulsierende Leben, von dem so gerne die Rede ist, wenn prominent und unter Leid die sogenannte Wirklichkeit mit all ihrer Vielfalt gerettet werden soll.

Es gab auch wieder Partys. Sie waren wild und schön. Und wir freuen uns schon jetzt auf die nächste Festivalausgabe. Zumal wir wissen, dass wir die Möglichkeit haben, mit all den Kurzfilmen den Keil zwischen gesellschaftsneurotischen Entwicklungen und Menschlichkeit pflocken zu können. - Sei Teil der Bewegung!

Impressions: Big Mix